Rituparna Sengupta | DataBells.com | Domain is available for Sale

Rituparna Sengupta

Rituparna was born in Calcutta on the 7th of November.

Even though there were no artistes in Ritu’s family before her, her family members always took an active interest in cultural activities and events. However, since they were very conservative, they were strongly opposed to the idea of her getting into the film industry. In her own words, “People always harbor the idea that acting is a very dicey profession and that the film industry is very corrupt. My family members are very protective and are always concerned about what I am doing.”

Rituparna is an actress with many dimensions to her creative personality. “I’ve always had a terrific passion for dancing”, she says. “I’m currently working on an original dance drama. The entire concept was mine, though I worked on the script with other people from Rabindra Bharati University.” Ritu has done several dance dramas with them. She was also part of a group called Ved Pancham.

Though Rituparna has made a niche for herself in the world of films, surprisingly enough, when she stepped into the celluloid world, apart from her experience as a danseuse, she hadn’t really received any formal training in acting. Unlike most actors and actresses, Ritu has never been involved in any way with drama and theatre. In her opinion, “people from a theatre background normally have a lot of mature acting experience and skills. The stage is an incredible training ground and it is the best medium when it comes to communicating with an audience. It is fulfilling for an actor to be on stage because you get an instant response from the audience. It teaches you how to be spontaneous, stage free, makes you comfortable with the lights and on the whole makes you technically very sound and gives you the inherent confidence to look up to something better.”


Awards and honors Received By Ritupurna Sengupta

  • 1995 Bharat Nirman Award
  • 1996 Kazi Nazrul Islam Birth Centenary Award by the Law Society of Calcutta
  • 1998 National Film Award for Best Actress, for Dahan 42nd National Film Festival of India.
  • 1999 Anandalok Puraskar for Best Actress for Dahan
  • 2000 Anandalok Puraskar for Best Supporting Actress for Attiya Sajan
  • 2005 Anandalok Puraskar for Best Glamour Queen
  • 2007 Anandalok Puraskar for Best Actress for Anuranan
  • 1999 BFJA– Best Actress Award
  • 2004 BFJA – Best Actress Award, Alo
  • 2006 BFJA – Best Actress Award, Trishna
  • 2013 BFJA – Best Actress Award, “Muktadhara”
  • 1993 Kalakar Award for Best Supporting Actress, Swet Pathorer Thala
  • 1997 Kalakar Award for Best Actress, Abujh Mon
  • 1998 Kalakar Special Award, Moner Manush
  • 2001 Kalakar Award for Best Actress, Sasurbari Zindabad
  • 2004 Kalakar Award for Best Actress, Mondo Meyer Upakhyan
  • 2006 Kalakar Award for Best Actress, Dwitiya Basanta
  • 2007 Kalakar Award for Best Actress, Batikrami
  • 2008 Kalakar Award for Best Actress, Anuranan
  • 2009 Kalakar Award for Best Actress, Mon Amour
  • 2010 Kalakar Award for Best Actress, Aaynate
  • 2014 Filmfare Critics Award for Best Actress, Alik Sukh
  • 2017 Filmfare Critics Award for Best Actress, “Praktan” Best Award Flashback Comeo Teesra Kaun


Films Done By Ritupurna  Sengupta

  • 1994 Teesra Kaun  Partho Ghosh Chunkey Pandey Bollywood debut
  • 1995 Mohini Hema Malini Telefilm
  • 1997 Daadagiri Arshad Khan
  • 1998 Aakrosh Ramesh J. Sharma
  • 2000 Kaali Topi Laal Rumaal B. Vijay Reddy Mithun Chakraborty
  • 2002 Sabse Badkar Hum K. Ravi Mithun Chakraborty
  • 2005 Main, Meri Patni Aur Woh Chandan Arora Rajpal Yadav
  • 2006 Unns Bhupender Gupta Sanjay Kapoor
  • 2007 Gauri: The Unborn Akku Akbar Atul Kulkarni
  • 2008 Sirf Rajaatesh Nayar Parvin Dabas
  • 2009 Do Knot Disturb David Dhawan Ritesh Deshmukh
  • 2010 …And Once Again Amol Palekar
  • 2012 Dil Toh Baccha Hai Ji Madhur Bhandarkar Ajay Devgn
  • 2012 Mad — It Can’t Be Anyone Prakash Jaiswal
  • 2012 Aalaap Manish Manikpuri
  • 2012 Overtime Ajay Yadav
  • 2013 Calapor Dinesh P. Bhonsle Priyanshu Chatterjee
  • 2014 Kolkata Junction Anjan Dutt Kay Kay Menon
  • 2015 Extraordinaari Sunanda Shyamal Mitra Shahbaz Khan
  • 2016 Six X Chandrakant Singh
  • 2017 Main Khudiram Bose Hun Manoj Giri
  • 2020 Bansuri: The Flute Hari Viswanath
  • 2020 Black Currency Film has not yet been released Sanjay Sharma