Dilip Kumar

Dilip Kumar

Dilip Kumar is an Indian film actor and Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha). He is the recipient of India’s highest award for cinematic excellence, the Dadasaheb Phalke Award and also the Nishan-e-Imtiaz, Pakistan’s highest civilian award.

Dilip Kumar was born Yusuf Khan in Peshawar (now Pakistan) in a Pathan family of twelve children. His father relocated to Bombay (now Mumbai), where the young Yusuf Khan became involved in the Bollywood film industry. A Hindi novelist suggested that he use a screen name, Dilip Kumar. His first film. Jwar Bhatta, was released in 1944.

In 1949, he co-starred with Raj Kapoor in the film Andaz, which went to become a major success and made him a superstar. Tragic roles in popular films such as Deedar (1951) and Devdas (1955) earned him the title of “tragedy king”. The film Mughal-e-Azam (1960), in which he played crown-prince Jehangir, the son of Akbar, was also a huge hit. He produced and starred in the 1961 hit Ganga Jamuna. Despite the huge success of the movie, he did not produce another film.

In the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s, Dilip Kumar acted in fewer films. Newer actors had taken the spotlight. However, his many fans were still willing to go see him in the character roles he increasingly favored. He co-starred with Amitabh Bachchan in the 1982 movie Shakti. While the movie was not a major success, Dilip Kumar won a Filmfare Award for his role as a father and an uncompromising policeman.

Some of his older films have achieved the status of “evergreen classics“, shown over and over again on television or cherished on videotape and DVD. A few of them, such as Devdas, Ram aur Shyam, and Ganga Jamuna, have been re-made several times.

Dilip had a narrow brush with wider fame in 1962, when Hollywood director David Lean offered him the role of Sherif Ali in his 1962 blockbuster, Lawrence of Arabia. However, Kumar declined the part. The role eventually went to Omar Sharif, the Egyptian actor.

He was awarded the Dadasaheb Phalke Award in 1995. In 1998 he was awarded the Nishan-e-Imtiaz, the highest civilian award conferred by the government of Pakistan. He is the second Indian to receive the award; the first was former Indian prime minister Morarji Desai. Anti-Muslim, anti-Pakistan Hindutva politicians like Bal Thackeray objected strongly to the award, and asked him to return it, but Mr. Kumar held his ground.

Dilip Kumar is considered one of the best actors produced by the Bollywood film industry, and Kumar fans see echoes of his style in the work of younger stars like Shahrukh Khan and Amitabh Bachchan.

He married actress and “beauty queen” Saira Banu in 1966 when he was aged 44 and she aged 22. At the time, gossip columnists predicted doom for the high-profile couple, but Dilip and Saira have proved them wrong. Their union has been one of the longest lasting marriages in Bollywood.

He has been active in efforts to bring the people of India and Pakistan closer together. He has been a member of the upper house of Parliament since 2000 and is known for his extensive charity work.


Movies Done By Dilip Kumar

  • 1944 Jwar Bhata Jagdish Amiya Chakravarty
  • 1945 Pratima Paidi Jairaj
  • 1946 Milan Ramesh Nitin Bose
  • 1947 Jugnu Suraj Shaukat Hussain Rizvi
  • 1948 Ghar Ki Izzat Chander Ram Daryani
  • 1948 Shaheed Ram Ramesh Saigal
  • 1948 Mela Mohan S. U. Sunny
  • 1948 Anokha Pyar Ashok M. I. Dharamsey
  • 1948 Nadiya Ke Paar Chhote Kumar Saheb Kishore Sahu
  • 1949 Shabnam Manoj B. Mitra
  • 1949 Andaz Dilip Mehboob Khan
  • 1950 Jogan Vijay Kidar Nath Sharma
  • 1950 Arzoo Badal Shaheed Latif
  • 1950 Babul Ashok Naushad
  • 1951 Hulchul Kishore S. K. Ojha
  • 1951 Deedar Shyamu Nitin Bose
  • 1951 Tarana Dr. Motilal Ram Daryani
  • 1952 Aan Jai Tilak Mehboob Khan
  • 1952 Daag Shankar Amiya Chakravarty Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1952 Sangdil Shankar R. C. Talwar
  • 1953 Shikast Dr. Ram Singh Ramesh Saigal
  • 1953 Footpath Noshu Zia Sarhadi
  • 1954 Amar Amarnath Mehboob Khan
  • 1955 Azaad Azaad / Abdul Rahim Khan / Kumar S. M. Sriramulu Naidu Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1955 Uran Khatola Kashi S. U. Sunny
  • 1955 Insaniyat Mangal S. S. Vasan
  • 1955 Devdas Devdas Bimal Roy Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1957 Naya Daur Shankar B. R. Chopra Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1957 Musafir Raja Hrishikesh Mukherjee
  • 1958 Yahudi Prince Marcus Bimal Roy
  • 1958 Madhumati Anand / Deven Bimal Roy Nominated – Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1959 Paigham Ratan Lal S. S. Vasan Nominated – Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1960 Kohinoor Yuvraj Rana Devendra Pratap Bahadur / Kohinoor S. U. Sunny Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1960 Mughal-E-Azam Prince Salim K. Asif
  • 1961 Gunga Jumna Gungaram ‘Gunga’ Nitin Bose Nominated – Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1964 Leader Vijay Khanna Ram Mukherjee Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1966 Dil Diya Dard Liya Shankar / Raja Saheb Abdul Rashid Kardar and Dilip Kumar himself Nominated – Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1966 Paari Warden Jagganath Chatterjee Guest Appearance, Bengali film
  • 1967 Ram Aur Shyam Ram / Shyam (Dual Role) Tapi Chanakya Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1968 Sunghursh Kundan S. Prasad / Bajrangi Harnam Singh Rawail Nominated – Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1968 Aadmi Rajesh / Raja Saheb A. Bhimsingh Nominated – Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1968 Sadhu Aur Shaitaan Cameo as himself, a person with sugarcane A. Bhimsingh Guest Appearance
  • 1970 Sagina Mahato Sagina Tapan Sinha Bengali film
  • 1970 Gopi Gopiram ‘Gopi’ A. Bhimsingh Nominated – Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1972 Dastaan Anil / Sunil / Judge Vishnu Sahay (Dual Role) B. R. Chopra
  • 1972 Anokha Milan Warden Jagganath Chatterjee Guest Appearance
  • 1972 Koshish Cameo as himself in a telephone call Gulzar Guest Appearance
  • 1974 Sagina Sagina Mahato Tapan Sinha Remake of 1970 Bengali film also starring him
    Nominated – Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1974 Phir Kab Milogi Teja Singh Hrishikesh Mukherjee Guest Appearance
  • 1976 Bairaag Kailash / Bholenath ‘Bhola’ / Sanjay (Triple Role) Asit Sen Nominated – Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1981 Kranti Sanga / Kranti Manoj Kumar
  • 1982 Vidhaata Shamsher Singh / Shobhraj Subhash Ghai
  • 1982 Shakti D.C.P. Ashwini Kumar Ramesh Sippy Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1983 Mazdoor Dinanath Saxena B. R. Chopra
  • 1984 Duniya Mohan Kumar Ramesh Talwar
  • 1984 Mashaal Vinod Kumar Yash Chopra Nominated – Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1986 Dharm Adhikari Dharam Raj K. Raghavendra Rao
  • 1986 Karma Jailor Vishwanath Pratap Singh / Rana / Dada Thakur Subhash Ghai
  • 1989 Kanoon Apna Apna Collector Jagat Pratap Singh B. Gopal
  • 1990 Izzatdaar Brahma Dutt K. Bapaiah
  • 1991 Saudagar Thakur Veer Singh Subhash Ghai Nominated – Filmfare Award for Best Actor
  • 1998 Qila Jagannath Singh / Judge Amarnath Singh (Dual Role) Umesh Mehra


The Government of India honoured Dilip Kumar with

  • 2015 – India’s second highest civilian award, the Padma Vibhushan, for his contributions towards Indian cinema
  • 2000-2006 – Elected to Rajya Sabha, the upper house of Indian Parliament.
  • 1994 – Dadasaheb Phalke Award
  • 1991 – India’s third highest civilian award, the Padma Bhushan, for his contributions towards Indian cinema
  • 1979-1982 – Appointed as the Sheriff of Bombay by the Governor of Maharashtra, India for the period
  • 1998 – Government of Pakistan honoured him with its highest civilian honour, the Nishan-e-Imtiaz.